Child Psoriasis

Posted Sat 27 Feb 2021 15.44 by Caroline in Yorkshire

Hello, I am new to your association, my son was diagnosed with psoriasis aged 5 after contracting scarlet fever ( he was very poorly with this and doctor was late diagnosed it). The psoriasis started with a tiny patch on one elbow. Fast forward to today, he is now almost 11 years old and covered from head to toe (scalp psoriasis, face and body). We have a dematologist and a good gp. He was using enstillar for over a year which worked wonders at first but we have now stopped it as it caused side effects in the form of stretched marks on his arms. Since stopping the treatment the psoriasis has gone worse - which we expected. Dermatologist is talking about a referral for light treatment but we cannot access it due to covid. My son is now taking turmeric tablets and vit D tablets. Can you suggest anything? Should we proceed with light treatment privately or what would be best for children in treating psoriasis? We have cut down gluten and diary. Whenever I mention diet, anxiety, hormone to dermatologist he says there is no scientific data to back that it has an effect. I believe that being a worrier and starting puberty would worsen his psoriasis and I am hoping that the right nutrition would help. Any advice / support welcome. Thank you in advance 😊

Posted Sat 27 Feb 2021 16.36 by scarletsmummy