Self image when living with psoriasis

Posted Fri 3 Jun 2016 11.20 by Nicky
Nursing student

Hi everyone, I hope you don't mind me posting here. I am a student nurse based in Dermatology at York hospital, UK and I am looking into psoriasis and the affect it has on peoples self-image and what support is available for this. I have looked locally around the York area and have found there to be very little support for people with psoriasis outside of the health service, and I am trying to work out why this is the case. If any of you would be able to answer a few questions which I can use in my research I would be really grateful. I don't need any personal information from you at all, just an overview of you and your condition. If you have the time, please can I ask you to answer the questions below: - How long have you had psoriasis? - Do you feel that it affects your self-image? - If so, in what ways? - Do you receive any support for how you feel about your self image? - If so, what support do you receive? - If you do not receive support - are you aware of support groups available to you? Do you access these at all? (e.e online discussion forums, local support groups) - Do you feel that a support group is something which you would be interested in? - If so, what kind of support would you prefer - online/face to face support? - Why would you prefer this form of support? Many thanks in advance, Nicky - Student Nurse

Posted Fri 10 Jun 2016 13.51 by Leahd (edited Sat 18 Jun 2016 09.14 by cscotto)
I have scalp psoriasis and smal patches on my body