Coconut Oil debate

1 Posted Wed 26 Apr 2017 14.49 by TeamClarkester

Hello. I am very new to the whole horror that is psoriasis. Until about a year ago I had never had any symptoms at all. Then a small patch on my elbow, in my hair, then my chest etc... I'm sure you all know the story. Now I am pretty much red, itchy and peeling on my chest, stomach, lower arms, behind knees, in skin folds, you name it... It knocked every bit of my confidence, I wouldn't leave the house without long sleeves - even to empty the bins, if anyone came round unexpectedly, i would firstly run and put a jumper, or jacket on... Treatments from GP had no effect and just seemed to help it spread and sting. Then I tried Raw Virgin Coconut Oil, rubbing it onto all affected areas 3 or 4 times a day at first, recently just in the morning and evening. The results have been nothing short of phenomenal! The itching is still there, but an anti histamine tablet more or less takes care of that for 24 hours. The skin on my arms and trunk though is almost back to the normal colour, with no plaques, but minimal dusting required maybe a couple of times a day, the insides of my elbows and knees are no longer continually sore. This is all within a week of use, by the way! I am even contemplating wearing a short sleeved t-shirt when I go out later. I cannot believe the difference it has made in such a short space of time. I would be interested to hear what other people's experiences are of coconut oil. For me, so far, it has been a miracle, and has brought my self esteem back up to almost normal again. Martin Clarke.

Posted Thu 27 Apr 2017 17.39 by ShabbyClown

It really works! My brother is using it to treat his psoriasis. He mixes the oil with powder use it as a lotion.

Posted Thu 24 Aug 2017 17.16 by RosiePosieJ

I use coconut oil on my face..don't know why I never tried it for my psoriasis? Thanks for the suggestion..think I'll give it a try 😊