Feeling alone...

Posted Tue 30 May 2017 22.42 by Steph

Hello I am new to this, well first of all .... i have suffered with Psoriasis from the age of 7 and am now in my 30's. I have tried many of the treatments on offer, Light therapy, topical treatments and also auto-immune medication I've had Humira (which worked) but only became available to me as the NHS couldn't give me an appointment within 3 months so apparently that's why I were offered private treatment at a place called "The Yorkshire clinic" wasn't local to me, but I were in the middle of a flare up and couldn't care less the appointment time were short and I needed to be seen. Since that one bout of treatment ended I were obviously back under the NHS and were told I wasn't allowed Humira on the NHS until I had 3 failed attempts at other medications, since then I've had ciclosporine which did help but had been on a year so they then started me on methotrexate, I have recently come off methotrexate as again, I need a break but have been left with just elocon ointment! Bearing in mind my immune system is now coming back full force so it seems I am now covered with psoriasis and my confidence is at an all time low! The embarrassment psoriasis caused me is awful I'm left feeling depressed and anxious, I tried to get into my surgery to see my GP last week to no avail! I ended up going to an emergency doctor out of hours as the 'receptionist ' at my usual surgery didn't think my problem were urgent?! I usually have about 3 -4 bad flare ups per year on average and right now I've got psoriasis in places I never knew possible, this has impacted on my relationship of 4 years which recently ended, he didn't understand when I'd rather shut myself away than go outside where people 'can see it' he said I need to "stop being stupid" and that's what I do feel ... stupid but at the same time I still can't do anything I find it debilitating, I just can't seem to come to terms with it and right now I don't know what to do