Hey all, I’m new and struggling!

Posted Mon 8 Jan 2018 19.50 by Hjaney

Hi everyone, I’m new to this but just seeking some advice... I’m a 24 year old female and was diagnosed with psoriasis about 6 months ago. There’s no history of it in my family and I’ve never had anything like this before. It started off as Guttate however I wasn’t diagnosed properly until a few months ago - doctors went back and forth about what might be causing my rash as it changed form quite a lot and became really wide spread after initially being quite minimal (didn’t really respond to steroid cream). About 2 months ago it suddenly became even worse, looking like giant sunburn all over my stomach and back, more spots down my arms and legs and so I was prescribed oral steroids and finally began Phototherapy 4 weeks later. After 5 weeks my skin was totally clear and I was amazed, however a week after coming off the steroids (I was tapered off) and alongside my first few sessions of Phototherapy and sure enough my rash has returned, covering a lot of my stomach and back. I’ve been told that’s the issue with oral steroids - can cause a rebound effect. I’m still early days with Phototherapy (10 sessions in) and back to using topical steroid cream, but I just feel really down and hopeless about it all. Has anyone got any advice about how to manage a flare up? I moisturise all the time and follow the usual steps. Also, what are people’s experience with Phototherapy? Thanks for any help, X

Posted Sun 4 Feb 2018 17.09 by Nan50
I've had psoriasis most of my life.