Plaque Psoriasis

Posted Sun 25 Feb 2018 20.45 by Lottie-lou

Hi all, I have been diagnosed with plaque psoriasis for around 10 years now. When i was first diagnosed i was 13, it was only on my scalp and was manageable. Over the last 10 years i have been able to manage my skin with moisturisers and steroids as needed, However, over the last 6 months my skin has gotten worse and worse. I was diagnosed with Psoriatic Arthritis 18 months ago too, which i was placed on Methatrexate for a while, but had to come off due to horrible side effects. Currently I am really struggling to deal with a worsening flare up. The patches are growing each day and the itching is never ending. Steroids just aren't working any more. I'm waiting for a dermatology referral. In the mean time any ideas which may help would be much appreciated. I work as a nurse and it is beginning to impact my job. I just wish something would work now.

Posted Mon 26 Feb 2018 09.05 by Robert

Hi,Itried all the steroid creams and all they do is cause flare ups,please try Sorion cream or Soratinex,they are expensive but will stop itching and reduce flares,if you are lucky they could clear your symptoms.Worth a try they are herbal and steroid free,ps if using Soratinex keep using your moisturiser as usual.

Posted Tue 27 Feb 2018 22.43 by Libby

Hey! When my plaques are really itchy I find oat baths a great help and smothering as much moisituriser on as possible. Then I put my steroid creams on top. If it’s a really bad flare up I only use Aveeno bath cream and moisturiser because of the oat content. What about taking an antihistamine to reduce the itchiness? Or aloe Vera products? X

Posted Wed 7 Mar 2018 16.16 by Angels66
have had the conditions since the birth of my 10 year old and have had huge flare ups and bouts of depression at the worst times