alcohol

Posted Thu 24 Oct 2019 9.24pm by JD

sorry if this has been covered i am new to this and have suffered psoriasis since 19 . My psoriasis is only now on my elbows and a little in the scalp >, Soon as i gave up drinking alcohol it started to go away. if i try to have a beer or a glass of wine it immediately comes back its a major trigger for me . Has anyone else experienced this ?

Posted Fri 25 Oct 2019 8.16am by mike andrews

If I go alcohol free for one month. My Psoriasis disappears only to return with the consumption of wine.

Posted Fri 25 Oct 2019 9.41am by JD

Yes I wonder if it might be worth setting up some control groups to try the various remedies and gain some accurate figures and results and formulate a best practise list of things to do to reduc the symptoms without medication

Posted Sun 27 Oct 2019 1.23am by wendyloish

I thought the Psoriasis Association was looking into the diet connection in their research programme. About the alcohol, JD, it might be the other things in beer, particularly, that are the trigger. An easy way to test this might be to try a non-grain based alcohol like vodka and see if the effects are the same as with the beer.

About the wine, Mike, red wine has abundant histamines, so it might be possible to avoid the problem by taking an antihistamine after drinking. Failing that, you could try drinking white wine as it has not the same histamine content. I found that switch was good for me.

wendyloish

Posted Wed 30 Oct 2019 4.43pm by JN

Is lager likely to be better than bitter/real ale?

Posted Wed 30 Oct 2019 10.10pm by wendyloish

Sorry, I am not a beer drinker so someone else will have to answer that one.

wendyloish

Posted Fri 1 Nov 2019 11.38am by Mac

High JN.

Keep in mind everyone is different, and what works for some doesn't work for other's. Sadly trail and error applies.