Worried re immune system and corona virus

Posted Wed 26 Feb 2020 16.37 by Dmort

Please excuse my anxiety but I’m finding I’m increasingly worried about being on biological treatment at a time when corona virus is spreading the way it is. I’m fairly new to biologics, just a few months and not quite sure what to expect re compromised immune system. I realise would be at risk also with seasonal flu but having vaccine there seems less of a worry. Is it just me? Or anyone else worried. Thanks in advance.

Posted Thu 27 Feb 2020 11.31 by Lasttime (edited Thu 27 Feb 2020 11.32 by Lasttime)

Been on biologics for 8 years never had flu jab. Noticed i got flu and colds more than pre biologics. Never had any real problems last couple of years never really had any problems. Then at the end of last year i got a serious chest infection never had anything before had real issues and only just getting over it. Think a lot will depend on if you are older more at risk. Keep a eye on local situation A lot to think about if it becomes wide spread it will be time to decide PS take a look at the blueberry thread

Posted Thu 27 Feb 2020 13.48 by Dmort

Thank you for your reply. It’s the unknown which is quite a worry, generally I do keep well other than the psoriatic arthritis and psoriasis. Blood done recently too and all seems fine. I’m back at rheumatology soon so I’ll ask when I’m there. Hope your recovery going well.

Posted Tue 3 Mar 2020 13.16 by Chelley (edited Tue 3 Mar 2020 13.24 by Chelley )

My daughter is on cyclosporin and my husband is on humira and I share your concerns. I hope we get some clear guidance and advice soon. Just to add, my daughter has had several nasty viruses since starting Cyclosporin and gets very poorly with them.

Posted Tue 3 Mar 2020 13.54 by Dmort