Working with Psoriasis

Posted Tue 21 Apr 2020 18.19 by Bethanylouise0x

Hi, I have psoriasis one my feet and hands (scalp and body too but my feet and hands are the biggest issue!) I am a trainee dental nurse and due to a huge flare up of my psoriasis on the bottom of my foot I have been signed off work since the last week of January as I can’t weight bare properly so work is impossible at the moment...and I don’t know when I will be fit enough to return. I was supposed to start a new medication after my second try of PUVA failed but due to COVID that isn’t happening for 3-6 months.. I cried a lot after that phone call! I’m looking to see what jobs/careers people have who also suffer with psoriasis not only on the hands and feet but in general too, in the hope this could maybe give me some confidence that I will be able to return to a job where I am on my feet for most of the day.. because I don’t know if I need to be looking for a job where I don’t have to be as active.. if that makes sense? Thank you in advance Bethany

Posted Tue 21 Apr 2020 19.03 by Alex N

I developed severe palmar plantar psoriasis for the first time just over a year ago at the age of 63. It was completely disabling for a few months until I got referred to a dermatologist. After trying dozens of creams and a course of UVB treatment, none of which helped at all, I was eventually put on Acitretin - a wonder drug for me! An aggressive medication and not without side effects, but it pretty much cleared my hands and feet within a month, and then I gradually reduced the dose and stopped taking it altogether 10 months later, a couple of months ago. So far so good! It doesn’t work for everyone, and isn’t suitable for women of child-bearing age. An advantage during this Covid-19 outbreak is that it isn’t an immunosuppressant, unlike many of the other drugs. Hopefully you will eventually get whatever medication you are going to try next and it will work for you. Good luck!