Exercise options with PsA

Posted Sun 24 Jan 2021 14.50 by JennyT

Newbie here! I have just recently been diagnosed with PsA. My diagnosis just took 3 months, which, by looking at some the stories, is super quick. Im very lucky, I dont have really Psoriasis. My Dad apparently did though....... (I have on occasion tiny specs on my elbows, and thats all...) Up until 3 months ago, I was a bit of a gym bunny, loved my running and HIT training, 3-4 times a week. Im 45 and the fittest and strongest I have ever been in my Life. Then, in October I had a heavy cold, laid off the training for 10 days, to get better. Started to run again, but noticed my knees were swollen, which I put down to perhaps diet..... They didn't go down for weeks, so decided to go to Docs, who sent me for bloods (which came back negative for RA...). Just a week later my ankles swelled up, my hands swelled up, and night time was so painful, it felt like it was in my shoulders and down my arms I couldn't even move a pillow to get comfortable (im sure people can relate to this!....). I couldn't walk in the mornings, and even had to buy myself a walking stick to get down the stairs!....Doc Prescribed me naproxen, and referred me to the Rheumatologist.... Who diagnosed PsA. He gave me a shot of Steroid, which really has done wonders for the inflammation, however after 3 weeks its wearing off unfortunately. I go back to see him next week in the hopes I get put on some sort of treatment....... Anyway, My point being, once on the right meds, Is its possible to start running again?...... Ive seen someone say they spin, which cheered me up! I cant possibly carry on and not exercise ever again, as I love my food far too much, and the pounds and piling one (if only my husband wasn't such a good cook!!!.....) So if anyone has any advice to give, it would be greatly received. At present I can mange a 3 mile walk, but thats about it! How Ive gone from fighting fit, to feeling like im 88 is pretty scary!!!...... How