Bony lump on thumb

Posted Thu 2 Feb 2023 14.43 by Rads68

Hi all . P sufferer for some 30 years, tried all the creams, lotions, potions, UVA, Puva, diet etc etc. The P comes and goes as we all know. Just noticed a bony protrusion, about 4 mm in diameter, on the outside of the first knuckle of my thumb. ie. about 20 mm behind the nail. Painful to touch and quite unsightly. Could this be the first sign of P arthritis? I know there's an increased risk of it with psoriasis sufferers. 54 years old. Thanks.

Posted Wed 15 Feb 2023 00.09 by Adamntan

Apologies for multiple posts (just joined this site). Had p for over 30 years too and only experienced psoriatic arthritis 4 years ago, Your description sounds similar- can you bend your thumb? When I had it in my wrist I couldn’t really move it without pain. However, I’m not a doctor so I would suggest going to your GP in the first instance and if they think it could be that they will refer you to a rheumatologist straight away.

Posted Wed 15 Feb 2023 07.42 by Rads68

I can bend my thumb without pain, it’s just sore to touch. I’ve a doctors appointment next week so yes, probably get a referral.

Posted Sat 18 Feb 2023 17.30 by Vanessa

Hi could anyone tell me what Psoriatic arthritis is like. I have had P for many years have been waiting for an appointment to start some more narrow ban treatment which has always worked for me. I have been offered biologics but so far I have tried to keep away from them. My psoriasis is really bad at the moment and I have recently started getting pain in my legs and arms. The pain in my legs is pretty bad and co-codamol and Ibuprofen are the only things that help just now. I have had some blood tests but not had results yet. I was wondering if it could be Psoriatic arthritis because I have no idea what that looks like. Can anyone tell me of their experience with PA. Thank you,

Posted Fri 10 Mar 2023 22.28 by Bethkin