Am I out of options?

Posted Fri 3 May 2019 20.08 by mercurial me

Hello to everyone!! Newbie here If anyone could offer an opinion for any treatment options it would be greatly appreciated. Back story- I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis when I was 17, I'm 40 now. In my early 20's I took Methotrexate for a year and both the arthritis and psoriasis cleared up. The arthritis still flares up with weather changed (I'm in Canada) but my psoriasis came back with a roar in my 30's. I was diagnosed with significant liver damage in my 30's and was told Methotrexate & Cyclosporin (sp) were no longer an option for treatment. My dermatologist injected me with 120 cc's of Kenalog (anti-inflammatory/corticosteroid) every other month for years in my 30's and it helped moderately. Two years ago I ended up with something called "Cushing's Syndrome" due to be injected with too much Kenalog for too long. This also caused an perforated ulcer on my duodenum which was pure hell to go through. Dermatologist has now scaled me back to 40 cc's of Kenalog every couple of months which is doing nothing. On special coal tar shampoo, Dovobet, Clobetosol, & Betaderm, Enstilar but anything topical does previous little to relieve the symptoms. I applied to the government to get subsidized for Otezla, Humera or Enbrel but was denied. Am I screwed? This sucks. For years my skin just sheds like a rattlesnake day after day. Can't even sleep in the same bed as my g/f due to my skin itch & psoriasis cracking and bleeding. Sorry to write an essay. Any feedback would be great. Great to find this forum:)

Posted Sun 5 May 2019 01.10 by wendyloish