Psoriasis and depression

Posted Tue 17 Dec 2019 21.37 by Mango

Hi guys, I am new to this association and forum, glad I found it as I have been a psoriasis sufferer for more than 10 years now, I am currently 24 my psoriasis has been hitty missy for last few years however after the birth of my first child my psoriasis has been off the roof and has been terrible for over a year now, doctors haven't been the best help so far, What I want to talk about is how much psoriasis affects mental health, I am just so down and depression all the time, I think people forget that even though it's not life threating, psoriasis has detrimental affects on mental health. Is anyone else suffering more mentally then even physically at the moment due to their condition? Thank you

Posted Fri 20 Dec 2019 19.54 by Jay

I’m suffering from depression too because this condition has taken over my life. I can’t play golf anymore because of the jacks on my feet and hands. I’ve put on weight because I’m not exercising anymore and I have now interest in going out or putting makeup on. By the time I go through my regime in the morning with the feet and the hands it’s almost noon, so I stay at home in my pjs. It’s had an adverse effect on my marriage as I feel ugly and I’m always angry.

Posted Fri 20 Dec 2019 23.56 by Mango

So sorry to hear, I am in same position in terms of marriage, I don't like to be touched, I barely look after myself and therefore my intimate life takes a back seat. I really hope we both are able to overcome our disease and find strength to live in harmony with it

Posted Fri 27 Dec 2019 04.33 by MIchael V