Psoriasis and IBS/Dairy Intolerance

Posted Tue 18 Aug 2020 11.09 by AzureBlue

Hi all. I’m a bit of a newbie in terms of this forum and psoriasis generally. I just wanted to ask a question and see if anyone else has had a similar experience or can offer some guidance. In September last year at the age of 35, I suddenly developed what I’d call IBS symptoms. Not very dignified but really bad flatulence, cramps etc to the point that at times I could barely walk or stand. About 4 weeks later I become covered in many red spots all over my body. The spots seemed to have a mind of their own and spread like wildfire within the space of a few hours. After many drs appointments this has been diagnosed as psoriasis. In April this year I did an elimination diet and cut out milk which does seem to have solved my stomach problems and I think that my psoriasis is better although still present but definitely not as bad as it was. I’ve diagnosed myself with having some sort of milk intolerance. Do you think that the milk intolerance is linked to the psoriasis? It seems too much of a coincidence to me that they both occurred at the same time. I’ve mentioned it to numerous GPs who have dismissed the idea saying that one wouldn’t affect the other. Can anyone offer their thoughts on this please? I’d be grateful for any insights anyone can offer. Thanks

Posted Sat 29 Aug 2020 08.05 by Em

I am 1 week into a dairy free diet. I have psoriasis all over me. It started when I was 18, I am 40 now. I think I can see an improvement already but do not want to get excited yet. So I think it could definitely be a possibility for dairy to be the cause of your problems. Do be aware that Illness can affect your psoriasis as it’s all to do with your immune system. I got a sore throat when I was 22 and about a month later I got a form of psoriasis called guttache which is a rash form that covered my back. Please give a dairy free diet a go as it seems promising for me hopefully it will be for you.