Weaning off Diprosalic

Posted Tue 9 Mar 2021 14.41 by Josie (edited Tue 9 Mar 2021 14.42 by Josie)

I’ve had psoriasis on my scalp for 23 years, the only thing I found that worked was Diprosalic scalp application. I’ve been using it regularly now for about 14 years. I recently did some research and it says these steroid treatments aren’t good for you in the long term, my doctor has never warned me of this. I have tried to come off it before but it seems my skin is addicted to it now as it flares up really bad when I stop using it. I’ve been using it less and less as vitamin d tablets are helping along with a vegan diet. But I was wondering if anyone has tips of other scalp applications which don’t use steroids that I can change to? Or tips on weaning off scalp steroid treatments? I can’t wash my hair with olive oil or coconut oil, I’m too lazy! Thanks in advance x

Posted Tue 9 Mar 2021 14.50 by scarletsmummy

I have had Psoriasis on my scalp for over 30 years and the only things that work for me are Cocois ointment ( VERY messy ) and steroid lotions as soon as you come off the steroids it flares up again ,I have purchased every lotion and potion under the sun that promises miracles ( but NONE of them work or they would be available on the health service as it would save them money ) Instead of using it daily i am now down to twice a week and have been put onto a different lotion ( Elocon ) which although is another steroid i am finding I don't need to use it every day As you say using the oils in your hair is such a mess and I Like you would not go down that route ,I even tried a UV hand help lamp but sadly it comes back as quickly as it eases. Everyone is different and i hope you find something that helps

Posted Thu 11 Mar 2021 10.01 by OhNo_NotAgain?