NB UVB - side effects

Posted Mon 3 May 2021 13.22 by mt382

Hi all, I’m a long time user of a home NB UVB unit. I’ve got the treatment duration etc down and use it yearly to kick back the flare on a rolling basis. As a biologist, I have done plenty of reading into the research. I know that long term dangers are extremely unclear, and maximum dosages are based on best guesses - erring on the side of caution, that lots of systemic biomarkers are improved with phototherapy, and that even arthritis and nail psoriasis have a positive benefit with NB UVB despite both being untouched by the actual radiation. That being said - research is still in its infancy. I have side effects every year, and these side effects are of the mood. I’m ten years in now, although the last two years I’ve had a break. The progress of my treatment is well understood and I can gauge my response etc. I however ALWAYS seem to gradually become massively tired and depressed as treatment progresses. So much so that years when I’ve done hardcore dosages and longer durations I’ve had full breakdowns. For a long time I felt it was coincidence, but the missed treatments in the last two years have seen a sustained mental clarity, and now that I’ve started again (three weeks in) I feel exhaustion, irritability, and anhedonia creeping in. The research is fairly shallow into side effects, and mood side effects can be easily missed. Has anyone else who is better acquainted with NB UVB ever noticed this before?

Posted Mon 3 May 2021 21.48 by geoffrey

i have been informed by nhs that my condition does not warrant light treatment because it is not severe enough. my shin skin is so thin that hard rubbing causes bleeding. just when is light therapy acceptable?

Posted Tue 4 May 2021 01.26 by Yacht

UVB-NB should make a person's mood (and energy) better, not worse. Does a UVB session make you sweat, red or hot?

Posted Tue 4 May 2021 17.48 by mt382