Appointment with Dermatologist.

Posted Sun 21 Aug 2016 17.06 by Katie87

Hello fellow psoriasis worries. I'm new here but an old hat at living with this condition. I'm 28 and have suffered with psoriasis since my teens. I've recently (start of year) come out with a bad case, all over my body. I went to see my doctor who has referred me to a dermatologist. My appointment is 30th August, and this is my first time seeing one. I'm just wondering, how bad does my psoriasis have to be before I can get help, other than home treatment? I bought a hand lamp for £150 but only use it on my hands, arms and ears as it talks 2 hours just to do that. I just want it gone. I don't mind if I have a spot here and there, I just don't want it this bad anymore. It's such a hindurence. I'm sorry for the essay. Thank you for take the time to read this.

Posted Mon 22 Aug 2016 10.51 by markd

Hi Katie, I'm also new on the forums. Welcome to us! I'm in a similar position to you,.. I've had psoriasis since I was about 15 (now 30) and about 2 years ago I got fed up with it and got a GP referral to the dermatologist. Since then I've had two courses of UVB treatment at the hospital, which did work quite well, It didn't clear my skin, but it was the best it had been for years. For me, the benefits only last a couple of months and then it is back to its' worst, so I don't see it as a long-term solution. It can also be quite inconvenient going to the hospital 2-3 times for 6-8 weeks. Getting the UV treatment wasn't difficult for me, I was referred for the treatment after my first visit to the dermatologist. I guess it probably varies quite a lot regionally and will be at the discretion of the consultant. After my last visit, my dermatologist has recommended that I go on to Methotrexate, but I'm not keen on the idea so I'm really trying hard on the diet route. Have you ever tried or considered changing your diet ? I hope this helps in any way

Posted Wed 24 Aug 2016 15.11 by twig